LETTER FROM THE CAMPUS HEAD

Dear St George’s Family

The school is oddly quiet as the teachers quietly shuffle in their spaces refiling the pupil files, generating new class lists, completing report comments and rounding off yet another year in the life of the school.  Our cleaning/catering and maintenance staff are moving, cleaning, sanding, painting and preparing one area after another and will do so for still a week to come.  Admin is wrapping up the loose ends of the year, firing off the last of the correspondence for the year and will be spending next week quietly wrapping up 2018 preparing for 2019.

The Campus is just not the same without the children!  We really are exceptionally proud of each and every pupil who has shared the past year with us and wish them a wonderful break after what has been a busy year.  We wish all our parents, hopefully, some valuable family time at this time of the year as the pace of work and pressures of living seem to heighten as the years pass.  May you all find the time to reconnect with one another and get some rest before 2019 begins.

May you all have a blessed Christmas and a very Happy New Year!

Kind regards
Alex Hall – Campus Head
Twitter- @AlexHallZA 
Linkedin- za.linkedin.com/in/alexhallza
Facebook- https://www.facebook.com/AlexHallZA

CONGRATULATIONS

Congratulations to Father Eddie Daniels on being Bishop elect of Port Elizabeth Anglican Diocese of Port Elizabeth

Father Eddie Daniels has been St George’s Prep’s “unofficial” Chaplain for many years and recently a member of our Board of Trustees, we are very proud of his achievement.

We continue to uphold him in prayers as he waits for his consecration.

NEW STAFF 2019

New Teacher Assistant at the Pre-Preparatory

We are pleased to announce the appointment of Miss Sindiswa Mapira as a new Teachers Assistant for the Gr 00 class at the Pre-Preparatory next year.  Sindiswa has been a member of staff at Little Eagles School in Summerstrand for the past 5 years and is excited to be joining our team in the 2019.

Mrs Anthea Fraenkel will be joining as our new Aftercare Facilitator in 2019. We thank Ms Heather Gibbon who has been the Aftercare Facilitator for 2018 and Sports Administrator.  Ms Gibbon will now be a full time Sports Administrator, Phys-Ed facilitator and Coach.

GRADE NAME CHANGES 

Please note that from 2019, classes will no longer be a ‘G’ or ‘S’ class.  Each class will be taking the name of teacher’s surname.  These are indicated in the table below.

GRADE 4 -7 LEARNING HUB

In 2019 we are introducing the Learning Hub to replace workshops, this will take place in the Carol Arts and Media Centre from Monday to Thursday from 14:15-17:00 for pupils in Grades 4 – 7.

Pupils will have the opportunity to actively research and complete projects and tasks and Library and IT Resources and educational games will be available to them.  

  • Pupils who are being collected at 13:55 will be expected to attend the Learning Hub if they are seen still to be waiting for collection at 14:15. This is merely a safety and security measure with your children’s best interests at heart.
  • It is compulsory for pupils attending a late afternoon sport session to attend the Learning Hub from 14:15 to 15:15.
  • It is compulsory for pupils waiting to be collected between 15:15 and 17:00 to attend the Learning Hub during these times.

PREPARATORY SCHOOL STAFF 2019

The following list will assist you to get to know members of staff in the Prep School for 2019.

Senior Management

 

 

Campus Head /

Headmaster St George’s Prep

Mr A Hall

prep@stgeorges.co.za

Deputy Headmaster                    

Mr A Stamper

a.stamper@stgeorges.co.za

Head of Senior Prep

Mr C Carter

c.carter@stgeorges.co.za

Head of Junior Prep

Mrs M Daley

m.daley@stgeorges.co.za

Head of Pre-Preparatory

Mrs A Hayward

a.hayward@stgeorges.co.za

Head of Music, Art and Drama

Mrs J du Toit

music@stgeorges.co.za

Head of Extra-Curricular

Mr A Peltenburg

sport@stgeorges.co.za

Head of Administration

Mrs D van Heerden

d.vanheerden@stgeorges.co.za

Pre-Prep staff

 

 

Grade 000 Teacher

Ms LA Pizzo

l.pizzo@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 000 Teacher Assistant

Ms E Samba

e.samba@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 00 Teacher /

Head of Pre-Preparatory

Mrs A Hayward

a.hayward@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 00 Teacher Assistant

Ms S Mapira

s.mapira@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 00 Teacher

Mrs L Howe

l.howe@stgeorges.co.za

Grade R Teacher

Ms A Martin

a.martin@stgeorges.co.za

Grade R Teacher

Mrs H Botha

h.botha@stgeorges.co.za

Grade R Teacher

Mrs N Carter

n.carter@stgeorges.co.za

isiXhosa / 00  Assistant

Miss Gloria Puzi

pre-prep@stgeorges.co.za

Grade R Assistant

Miss Matsepiso  Puzi

pre-prep@stgeorges.co.za

General Cleaner

Miss Tembi Mavuso

pre-prep@stgeorges.co.za

Gardener & Handyman

Mr Jackson Msila

pre-prep@stgeorges.co.za

Junior Prep teaching staff

 

 

Grade 1 Class Teacher (Gr 1M)

Mrs M Daley

m.daley@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 1 Class Teacher (Gr 1D)

Mrs S De Vos

s.devos@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 2 Class Teacher (Gr 2D)

Ms J Dawson

j.dawson@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 2 Class Teacher (Gr 2H)

Mrs S Hall

s.hall@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 2 Class Teacher (Gr 2T)

Mrs C Tanner

c.tanner@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 3 Class Teacher (Gr 3J)

Mrs C Johnson

c.johnson@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 3 Class Teacher (Gr 3T)

Mrs T Jennings

t.jennings@stgeorges.co.za

Senior Prep teaching staff

 

 

Grade 4 Class teacher (Gr 4V)

Mrs S van Wyk

s.vanwyk@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 4 Class teacher (Gr 4B)

Ms K Bradfield

k.bradfield@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 5 Class teacher (Gr 5W)

Mrs K Westcott

k.westcott@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 5 Class teacher (Gr 5S)

Mr C Samboer

c.samboer@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 6 Register teacher (Gr 6C)

HOS English

Miss E Clarke

e.clarke@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 6 Register teacher (Gr 6S)

HOS Afrikaans

Ms E Scholtz

e.scholtz@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 7 Register teacher (Gr 7C)

HOS Social Science

Mr C Carter

c.carter@stgeorges.co.za

Grade 7 Register teacher (Gr 7S)

HOS Natural Science

Ms L Seaman

l.seaman@stgeorges.co.za

Subject Teaching staff

 

 

Afrikaans

Ms E Scholtz

e.scholtz@stgeorges.co.za

Art 1 – 7

Mrs J Maltby

j.maltby@stgeorges.co.za

Design and Technology 6 – 7

Mr Carter

Ms Seaman

c.carter@stgeorges.co.za 

l.seaman@stgeorges.co.za

Drama Grade 1 – 7

Mrs A Stiglingh

a.stiglingh@stgeorges.co.za

English Grade 6 – 7

Miss Clarke

Ms Seaman

l.seaman@stgeorges.co.za

c.pearce@stgeorges.co.za

EMS Grade 6 – 7

Ms Seaman 

Mr Carter

l.seaman@stgeorges.co.za

d.glover@stgeorges.co.za

ICT ( K-NET ) Grade 1 – 7

Ms T Greener

t.greener@stgeorges.co.za

isiXhosa Grade 1 – 7

HOS isiXhosa

Ms Z Chaga

z.chaga@stgeorges.co.za

Learning Support

Mrs L McNaughton

Mrs K Stamper

l.mcnaughton@stgeorges.co.za

k.stamper@stgeorges.co.za

Library Grade 1 – 7

Mrs R Roth

library@stgeorges.co.za

Maths Grade 6 and Natural Science Grade 6

HOS Mathematics

Mr D Glover

d.glover@stgeorges.co.za

Maths Grade 7

Mr D Glover

Mr A Peltenburg

d.glover@stgeorges.co.za

sport@stgeorges.co.za

Natural Science Grade 6

Ms E Scholtz

Mr D Glover

e.scholtz@stgeorges.co.za

d.glover@stgeorges.co.za

Natural Science Grade 7

Ms L Seaman

l.seaman@stgeorges.co.za

Social Science Grade 6

Mr  C Carter

Mr A Stamper

c.carter@stgeorges.co.za

a.stamper@stgeorges.co.za

Junior Prep Intern

Ms S Steinbach

s.steinbach@stgeorges.co.za

Junior Prep Intern

Ms M Lottering

m.lottering@stgeorge.co.za

Senior Prep Intern

Mr E Kettledas

e.kettledas@stgeorges.co.za

Senior Prep Intern

Ms T Basson

t.basson@stgeorges.co.za

Music Teachers – Full Time

 

 

Violin / Cello / String Orchestra

Mr N Green

n.green@stgeorges.co.za

Piano / Clarinet / Saxophone / Senior Choir

Mrs J du Toit

music@stgeorges.co.za

Flute / Recorder/ Junior Band /Flute Choir

Mrs M du Plooy

m.duplooy@stgeorges.co.za

Piano / Class Music / Recorder / Junior Choir

Mr E Botha

e.botha@stgeorges.co.za

Brass /Recorder /Piano /Senior Band

Ms C Plaatjies

c.plaatjies@stgeorges.co.za

Percussion / Drums / Guitar / Bass Guitar

Mr A Warneke

a.warneke@stgeorges.co.za

Aftercare Staff

 

 

Aftercare Facilitator

Mrs A Fraenkel

aftercare@stgeorges.co.za

Aftercare Assistant

Mrs C Manditsvara

aftercare@stgeorges.co.za

Aftercare Assistant

Mrs G O’Connell

aftercare@stgeorges.co.za

Aftercare Assistant

Miss D Beckley

aftercare@stgeorges.co.za

Administration and Support Staff

 

 

Head of Administration

Mrs D van Heerden

d.vanheerden@stgeorges.co.za

Finance Manager

Ms L Pienaar

finance@stgeorges.co.za

Marketing and Admissions

Mrs D Berry

marketing@stgeorges.co.za

School Secretary / Headmaster’s PA

Ms G Pattison

prep@stgeorges.co.za

Pre-Prep Secretary

Mrs L Alexandris

pre-prep@stgeorges.co.za

Sports Administrator

Ms H Gibbon

h.gibbon@stgeorges.co.za

School Shop

Mrs D Allen

diallen@live.com

Catering Events & Housekeeping

Mr R Hartel

catering@stgeorges.co.za

Cook

Mrs V Hartel

 

Cook

Mrs L Dyasi

 

Kitchen Assistant

Miss T Mvimbeli

 

Housekeeping

Mrs F Yokwe

 

Housekeeping

Miss J Poli

 

Housekeeping

Miss B Esterhuizen

 

Housekeeping

Miss Z Baby

 

Housekeeping

Miss N Ntontela

 

Maintenance & Grounds

Mr S Jefferys

c/o Head of Administration

Grounds

Mr C Chamboko

 

Grounds

Mr T Ngcayisa

 

Grounds

Mr S Storm

 

Maintenance

Mr S Rawana

 

Driver & Traffic Control

Mr D Mbekele

 

SCHOOL NEWS

A big thank you to parents for their generous donations of goodies for our Support Staff.  They work incredibly hard ‘behind the scenes’ here at St George’s Prep and are most appreciative of your generosity

First Term 2019

The Prep Admin Offices will open on Thursday, 10 January 2019.

The School reopens to pupils on Wednesday, 16 January 2019 at 07h45.

School will close at the following times during the first week of Term 1 2019:

  • Grade 1                12h30   
  • Grade 2                13h00   
  • Grade 3 – 7          13h55

All co-curricular activities (eg. sport, extra art, Spotlight drama, Grade 4-7 Learning Hub) will commence on Monday, 21 January. 

Please ensure that your children start the New Year with acceptable haircuts and wearing the correct uniform.

School Shop and 2nd Hand Clothing Shop Hours for January 2019

School Shop:

  • Mon 14            10:00  – 13:00
  • Tues 15            08:00  – 11:00
  • Wed 16            07:30  – 08:30              12:30 – 14:30              SCHOOL RE-OPENS
  • Thurs 17          07:30 – 08:30              12:30 – 14:30
  • Fri 18                Closed
  • Thereafter normal hours apply


2nd Hand Clothing Shop:

  • Wed 16            07:30 – 08:30              12:30 – 14:30              SCHOOL RE-OPENS
  • Thurs 17          07:30 – 08:30              12:30 – 14:30
  • Thereafter back to normal Hours
  • Wednesday    12h30 – 14h00
  • Thursday         07h30 – 08h30

UPCOMING EVENTS

Junior and Senior Preparatory Parent Meeting and Family Braai – Monday 21 January 2019

The first important Junior and Senior Prep parent meeting and event of 2019 will take place on Monday 21 January 2019 from 17h00.

We will be hosting a Google Classroom Parent information session for our Grade 4-7 parents from 17h00-17h30. This will be followed at 17h30 by our Grade 1-7 Parent Information Meetings in the various classrooms.

The aim of the meetings is to ensure an easy transition into the new Grade for your child and will give you as a parent, an insight regarding our classroom practice, routines, procedures and daily homework. This is an introductory and comprehensive information evening.

After this please join us for our Annual Family braai on the Hall Quad.  This is a wonderful opportunity to foster school spirit and to get to know your new class teachers and class parents.  The school will provide salads and rolls. Please bring your own meat and drinks. 

Grade 4 – 7 Camps : January 2019

Senior Prep camps are held annually at the beginning of each year to create a sense of community amongst the children in each Grade with team building and fun activities planned.  Letters have already been sent out to all our 2019 Senior Prep parents regarding these Camps.

  • Grade 4 2019 Camp will be taking place at Pine Lodge from Thursday 24- Friday 25 January 2019
  • Grade 5 2019 Camp will be going to Hobbiton in Grahamstown from Wednesday 23 – Friday 25 January 2019
  • Grade 6 2019 Camp are off to Bushpig Adventures in Port Elizabeth from Wednesday 23 – Friday 25 January 2019
  • Grade 7 2019 Camp will be taking place held at African Imprint Outdoor Centre near Sundays River from Tuesday, 22 January to Friday, 25 January.
What’s happening in the first two weeks of Term 1 2019 - (School Events: 16 January – 2 February)

Day

Team

Start Time

Opposition

Venue

Estimated Finish

Thurs 10 January

Admin Offices Open

Wed 16 January

Term 1 commences

07h45

Grade 1 ends at 12h30

Grade 2 ends at 13h00

Grade 3 – 7 ends at 13h55

 

Tues 17 January

Grade 1 end at 12h30

 

 

 

Pre-Prep Parent Information Evening

18h00

 

Pre-Prep

19h00

Fri 18 January

Grade 4-7 Gala Trials

10h45

 

 

14h00

Sat 19 January

U13A Woodridge T20 Festival

Tba

 

 

tba

Mon 21 January

Grade 000 – 7 Co-Curricular Activities Commence

Gr 4-7 Google Classroom Parent Information Evening

17h00

Parents are encouraged to attend

Jan Immelman Hall

17h30

Gr 1-7 Parent Information Meetings

17h30

 

Classrooms

18h30

St Georges’ Family Braai

18h30

 

 

 

Tues 22 January

Grade 7 leave for Camp

Wed 23 January

Grade 5+6 leave for Camp

Thurs 24 January

Grade 4 leave for Camp

Fri 25 January

Grade 4-7 Camps return

Grade 1 Picnic

09h00

 

Daverin field

 

Sat 26 January

B League Gala

08h30

 

Newton Park

±12h30

Mon 28 January

 

 

 

 

 

Tues 29 January

Gr 7 House Captain Speeches

07h45

 

 

08h30

Wed 30 January

Grade 4-7 Swimming Gala

14h00

 

Aquatic Centre

17h00

Thurs 31 January

Grade 4B Love Story

 

 

 

 

 

SANBS Blood Drive

13h00

 

 

15h00

Fri 1 February

Grade 4VW Love Story

 

 

 

 

Pre-Prep Family Fun Evening

18h00

 

Pre-Prep

20h00

Sat 2 February

Cricket vs Kingswood

IMPORTANT DATES FOR TERM 1

  • Tuesday 5 February                                        
    Individual and Class Photos
  • Wednesday 6 – Saturday 9 February       
    Oakhill Chukka u13 Waterpolo Festival
  • Saturday 9 February                                       
    u9 Cricket Festival – Old Mill (Fort Beaufort)
  • Wednesday 13 February                              
    Welcome Wednesday
  • Friday 15 February                                          
    Kingswood Water Polo Festival
  • Monday 18 – Friday 22 February              
    Swimathon
  • Tuesday 19 February                                     
    Kids’ Lit Quiz (14h30-17h30)
  • Thursday 21 – Sunday 24 February          
    Independent Schools Cricket Festival
  • Friday 22 February                                         
    St George’s Camp Out
  • Friday 22 – Sunday 24 February                
    Independent Schools’ Cricket Festival
  • Friday 1 and Saturday 2 March                  
    Cricket vs Reddam
  • Friday 8 March                                                 
    Grade 1 Phonics Day (09h00-10h25)
    St Andrews Water Polo Festival
  • Fri 8, Sat 9 & Sun 10 March                         
    Clarendon Hockey Festival
  • Wednesday 13 March                                   
    Welcome Wednesday
  • Thursday 14 & Friday 15 March                 
    Kingswood Hockey Festival
  • Friday 15 March                                               
    Junior Prep Swimming Gala (12h30-14h30)
    Grade 1-7 Co-Curricular Activities End
  • Monday 18 March                                          
    Grade 1-7 Parent/Teacher Meetings (14h30-18h30)
  • Tuesday 19 March                                          
    Grade 1-7 Parent/Teacher Meetings (14h30-18h30) 
    City Feed Volunteer Evening (for pupils and parents)
  • Wednesday 20 March                                   
    Term 1 End (11h00)
  • Wednesday 10 April                                       
    Term 2 Commences